It’s been a while

It’s amazing what can happen in seven or so months, isn’t it?

I really did try to stay on top of this but between communications law, graduating college, enjoying my last true summer, and starting as a grad assistant, I was a little overwhelmed.

The last seven months have taught me some things and I’ve learned and done some things in the last seven days I never thought I would.

Let’s start with some of the smaller picture stuff.

I have really underestimated how resourceful someone can be when living on their own. If you would have told me a week ago that I would figure out how to reset my breaker and fix my stove, without my Dad’s help, I would have laughed.

That was one of the more beneficial things. I’ve also come to realize that you can’t fix stupid and it is nearly impossible to get a real person on the phone when calling a customer service line. That, and when you get a person on the phone (from the same company) they all tell you different things! Excuse me while I go cry because I’m so frustrated and no one seems to be able to help me.

Now I know why some people drink during the week.

But things tend to work themselves out (ever so slowly) and eventually you find that your eyelid has stopped twitching and you’re thinking that maybe nothing else terrible is going to happen in the next 24 hours (fingers crossed).

I guess all of those little things tend to make the big things seem even bigger.

One life lesson I learned the hard way is that sometimes there’s no explanation for people’s actions and there’s nothing you can do about it. Does it make you feel like the scum of the earth? Yes. Does it make you feel like everyone is against you and you must be a terrible person? Of course it does.

But then there are the people who make you realize what you have.

Friends you haven’t seen in seven or eight years who want to be in your company. Who will go to a concert with you or just take a drive to the beach in a cool car. Friends you drive over 20 hours in one weekend to be with because you missed each other that much. The people who offer you a place to sleep in case you can’t move in early and might be homeless for five days. The friends who through it all are a shoulder to lean on at 1 am when you partied just a little too hard.

Those are the people who make it okay that people leave our lives for whatever reasons they have.

And then there are those who have, at least for me, been there since day one, my family.

This was the first summer since I was 14 that I did absolutely nothing. I got a job, worked one shift, quit, and spent the summer bumming on the beach with my parents.

Let me tell you, it was great.

The reality is, I probably won’t ever have that much consecutive time with my family again for a really long time. So maybe most of my friends had really amazing internships, I have a pretty amazing family.

Now I don’t want to bore you with every detail of my life since I turned 22 but I think I gave a pretty good synopsis (for those of you besides my Mom who read this). Hopefully I can get better about this again.

So here’s to the start of my victory lap pt. 1 (aka graduate school)

img_9223-4

Leave a Reply

