“You are now being considered as a First-Year student for the Fall 2013 term”

That was the only sentence I was able to read with my hand shaking before my sister pulled my phone out of my hand.

Then we started screaming.

Three years ago today I received that email that would change my life forever.

I still remember that day.

It was just before lunch ended when my college guidance counselor found me in the hallway. He goes “Georgia is releasing decisions at 4.”

Que my stomach dropping and the nerves setting in. Then I had to sit through AP Calculus.

I more or less refreshed my email every 15 minutes from that point on. After school, my sister and I went to Five Guys, not that I was able to eat much.

After that, I got into the car, checked my email, and at 4:23 it appeared.

We called my parents screaming, who were coming back from the airport, and they had to pull off to the side of the road because my Mom started crying.

I never knew what that email had in store for me at that point. All I knew was that I had gotten accepted to my first choice school, first.

Since then it was been a whirlwind.

I have met the most amazing people (in a place where I came in knowing no one) and have done more than I could have ever imagined.

I’ve been on football fields, I’ve gone bridge jumping in Tennessee, I’ve road tripped to New Orleans, I’ve had stories I’ve written published, and I’ve coached a soccer team.

I’ve also cried, but have had friends to pick me back up.

I’ve had mental break-downs, but I always made it through.

I’ve had hardships, but they’ve made me the person I am.

The University of Georgia has made me the person I am.

Who would have thought a Jersey girl from suburbia would find herself immersed and in love with one of the most well-known colleges in the southeast?

I knew from the time I was 15 that I wanted to go to school somewhere from North Carolina down. I was over the cold weather and New York City never held that appeal to me.

So here I am. In my second to last semester of my senior year. Anxiously waiting on a decision from the University of Georgia graduate school. Hoping they allow me to continue my education here as a Bulldog.

If you had asked me three years ago where I would be right now I would probably have a different answer than what reality brought. Either way, I know that I would be confident in my choice to come here and that it was the right one.

So fingers crossed I can have another moment like this very soon. With my hands shaking so bad I can’t read my email and the person next to me screaming it as they read it for me.

img_9223-1

Leave a Reply

