Greek Grind

For those of you who don’t know what that is, it’s a fundraiser put on by SDT where all the sororities of UGA show off their best dance moves every fall.

I, however, am not one of those girls (my sister constantly reminds me that I have no rhythm). So I took to the audience last night.

My Little, however, has moves like I could never dream to have.

She was the co-captain of the team.

She helped choreograph the dance.

She made what they did in front of thousands of people look easy.

So yeah, she’s pretty cool.

As is the experience of Greek Grind as a whole.

You make posters, you wear way too much glitter, and you scream with your sisters for your sisters on stage (throat still hurts). And it’s all for a great cause (overall SDT raised $100,000).

And this was our first year participating in Greek Grind.

I have to say, we did a hell of a job.

We won the banner contest (our banner chair is amazement personified), we won the BOGO bra competition, and we took two awards last night.

Our Greek Grind guy was voted the favorite and we came in second for spirit points. Which means we received $500 toward our own philanthropy. Not too bad for some first timers huh?

I have to say that I’m kind of sad that it took me until senior year to get to this event. But I am so blessed that the first time I witnessed it, the girls I call my sisters were able to compete in it.

(If all goes well and I’m here for grad school next year maybe my Little can snag me a ticket)

After watching all of them last night, I had that fleeting thought of “wow, maybe I could do that.”

Then reality set in and I remembered that the only body coordination I have is when I’m playing lacrosse.

So I leave the dancing to the girls who rocked it on the stage and I’ll continue to scream my head off from the balcony.

img_9223-3

 

Leave a Reply

