Almost at the 24 hour mark Dawg Nation

Tomorrow.

Georgia football returns. Tomorrow.

While we won’t be teeing it up between the Hedges, we’ll still be wearing our red home jerseys.

And I could not be more excited.

(Safe to say I haven’t done much besides watch hype videos and make sure I don’t forget to pack anything for when I head to Atlanta)

Tomorrow is not only the start to the 2016 football season, it’s also the start to my SENIOR football season.

This time three years ago I had never been to a Georgia game. Our first game of the season in 2013 was against Clemson at Clemson. So I went home with my roommate for the weekend because I had no where else to go for Labor Day.

I remember watching the game in her basement with her parents as they were screaming at the TV. To be honest, I didn’t know what to do. I didn’t know who this team was. I didn’t know who these players were. I was lost.

Then it all changed.

The next weekend we had our home opener against South Carolina.

I still remember the sense of awe I had walking into Sanford Stadium for my first collegiate football game. It was an energy I had never felt before.

And by the end of it I was part of it too.

I was tired. I was sweaty. My throat was sore form yelling “Go Dawgs.” I knew I was in the right place.

Ever since that day my heart has bled Red and Black (I mean I work for the Athletic department. It’s pretty much my job to love the Dawgs).

A girl from suburbia New Jersey who went to one high school football game and watched one college football game in her whole life, became a believer.

A believer in that there’s something magical about those silver britches and “Glory, Glory.” A believer in that s school can have pride in themselves and fight so hard for it. A believer in Georgia football.

At this point I probably sound a little ridiculous but that’s how people act when it comes to something they love. And I love Georgia football. I’ll love it for the rest of my life.

So here’s to the 2016 season!

Go Dawgs!

img_9223

Leave a Reply

