Stop and Smell the Honeysuckles

Usually my days are filled with projects, appointments, errands, and all of the above.

This week has proved to be slightly different from my typical chaotic days.

My boss is on vacation this week so I have found myself with a little more time to myself in the mornings. And yesterday I was able to do something that I haven’t been able to do in a long time.

Walk through North Campus.

Just walk. Not my usual brisk place when I’m trying to get to class or make an appointment. Not constantly checking my phone to make sure I haven’t missed an email or my watch to make sure I’m 10 minutes early to wherever I have to be.

I was able to just walk.

I maybe be slightly biased but in my opinion, Georgia has one of the prettiest campuses. And North Campus is probably the most stunning. Most of the time I’m zipping by too fast to notice anything.

One thing I never knew was that the bushes near the Chapel Bell that line the pathway between the sidewalk, are honeysuckles. As I made my way to walk by the fountain I was caught off guard by how strong their scent was. And then it hit me.

I’m less than a month from starting my senior year here at UGA. The place that has become my home away from home for the last three years.

My days in Athens and my walks through North Campus at this point are numbered (there’s a chance I’ll go here for grad school but then again I have to get in first).

Honeysuckles on North Campus are just one example to show how much more there is to see and do here. I’ve been here for three years and still feel like I haven’t done or seen a majority of what Athens has to offer. And time is not on my side at the moment.

I’ve said that coming 900 miles to a new school where I didn’t know a single person was the best decision I’ve ever made. It’s still true. I wouldn’t change this experience for anything.

(I’ll save the ‘this is my last ____’ at least until the spring semester starts. Or maybe at that point I won’t have to because I’ll Double Dog it and come here for grad school if it all works out)

Regardless, with only so many months and walks through North Campus left, I’ll have to remember to slow down my pace (my friends say I walk too fast anyway) and smell some honeysuckles along my way. Maybe I’ll come across some roses too.

img_9223-8

Leave a Reply

