Step Back

My Mom always said I was born with an Old Soul. I tend to think that’s because I think I was born too late (granted I was two weeks late but that’s not the point I’m trying to make).

I love my life and the people in it, but I think I was born at a time when the world is too fast.

We’re constantly checking our phones, hitting refresh, and are sometimes too connected for my liking (I’m sorry if I don’t respond to your message right away. I am doing something besides staring at a backlit screen. I’ll get to it when I can).

Maybe I feel like this because I like things most people consider to be “old fashioned.”

I like long drives to no where in particular.

I like driving with the windows down because who needs A/C when you have the wind.

I prefer handwriting everything and making lists as opposed to typing them up and using reminders (I just got a new notebook and I’m more excited than most would be).

I worry that my kids will have better typing skills than penmanship because supposedly script isn’t being taught in some schools anymore (I mean, writing a thank-you note has almost become a lost art).

I’d rather have a long phone call with someone than text on and off during the day (because I hate texting. If it wasn’t so convenient I wouldn’t use it).

I hate it when boys (or anyone really) send a text saying “here” instead of coming up and knocking on the door.

I can’t stand that the concept of dating now revolves around “likes,” texts back, and mind games. What happened to dinner and a movie? And no I don’t mean “Netflix and Chill.”

I also seem to remember a time during which when people went out, they wore actual clothes. Not oversized shirts and gym shorts/pants.

I’d rather carry around four books in my bag than a tablet with 100 on them because I like to flip the pages and see how much longer I have to go.

I like photo albums I can hold in my hand, not ones I flip through on a screen.

I’m one of the few people I know who listen to talk radio in the mornings.

Honestly, the only kind of satellite radio I like is “Radio Classics” where they play old shows from my grandparents time.

I’ve always liked Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, Elvis, Johnny Cash, and similar music from that time. A time I was never remotely a part of.

I guess the best way to describe how I think I see myself is a mix of Automatic and Noise.

That’s not to say that I don’t love my life or the people in it. I just think in the midst of everything we’ve lost how to be us. We’re glued to backlit screens and while trying to stay on top of every single little thing, we miss what is passing in front of our faces.

Maybe that’s why I tend to day dream about the past, and sometimes wish I could step back into it.

So maybe instead of texting someone, I’ll write a letter. Because that’s just the way I am.

img_9223-8

Leave a Reply

