Second chances

Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me.

I’ve always found it hard to completely despise someone who has wronged me along the course of my life. I don’t know how someone could feel that much negativity toward someone they cared deeply about once upon a time (granted if the taking of life was involved or it was life altering in any negative way that’s on a completely different level).

Now matter how hard I would try to hate the person who made me cry way back when, I would still find myself smiling at the good memories we shared together.

So if somewhere down the line one of those people muster up the courage, reach back out to me, and ask me to forgive them, usually I will.

I’m a big believer in second chances. But that’s the only one you’ll get.

I know life gets in the way sometimes and more often than not it’s out of anyone’s control.

Sometimes maturity, age, circumstance, and distance play a factor too.

But if that person, after days, weeks, or even years, goes out of their way to contact you again, explain their wrong, and ask for forgiveness? That’s never the easiest thing to do.

They could have gone on with their lives. Plagued by guilt, regret, both, or neither. They could have not thought twice about you again or they could have thought of you every other day and not done anything about it.

The few who do, do something about it

And I believe that they have done their part to try to come back into your life, so now it’s up to you as to what you want to do.

If it’s the first and only time they have screwed up, I’ll accept their apology.

Would I want to see them in person every again? Maybe, maybe not. That, I believe, is up to me. If I never see them again, I’ll still have the fact that they wanted me back in their life again in whatever way or shape takes form. If I do decide to see them again, then that means I had a shred of hope that they would come back into my life.

Regardless of what any of you who read this decided to do, this is usually how I go about things.

My sister would probably read this and say “You’re too nice. You don’t have to be nice.” My Mom would say “Why would you want to talk to them again? They did X, Y, and Z to you.” My Dad would probably say something a little more colorful which I’ll refrain from writing.

And they say those things because they worry and care about me and don’t want to see me hurt, which I appreciate immensely.

But this is my life and if I chose to give out a second chance, then that’s my business and no one else’s.

After all, why live your life with negative feelings toward someone when you no longer have to?

img_9223-8

Leave a Reply

