Coming home

I’ve come to learn that people come in and out of your life.

When I was younger I thought a relationship with a significant other was going to be one of the hardest things I would learn to maintain. I was wrong.

Granted it does take a lot of work, but I’ve come to find that maintaining relationships with people you consider friends is much more demanding.

With my third year of college now behind me, I can probably count on my hands the number of friends, outside of my family, I come home to. And the number has shrunk over the years.

Some relationships have faded over time where others have come to an abrupt stop (and those are usually the saddest). I feel like I keep losing friends from back home rather than maintaining them.

But then I have to step back and think about the great people I still do have in my life.

I have friends who I can drive around with and before I know it, it’s 2 in the morning.

I have friends who I can talk to for over two hours and not realize that much time has passed.

I have friends who will play catch with me just because it’s a nice day out.

I have friends who will drive an hour just to come over for dinner.

I have friends who will look for sea glass and then nap on the beach with me.

I have friends who I can not see for months, or years at a time and meet up every summer like no time has past.

I have this and much more. And I am so grateful for them.

I may have people who I was once close with and are no longer in my life but that’s okay. I have people who have gone out of my life and come back into it, in a slightly different way but they are still there all the same.

When I was younger I was worried about being friends with everyone so I wouldn’t miss out on anything. Now I’ve come to realize that it’s not the quantity of friends but the qualities you find in them that correlate with your own.

My phone might not light up as much with texts, phone calls, and snapchats as it used to but that means I don’t have to charge it as often. And when it does light up, I know its from people who genuinely want to see how I am.

So I may spend a few more nights hanging out on the couch while at home than I will hitting the town, and I’ve learned to be more comfortable with that than I have been in the past.

I guess this is part of growing up too. Coming home, having a few less people on your contact list, and learning to be okay with it. So what if I wasn’t able to make beat the clock at Bar A on Tuesday, I was able to do something different another night with great friends.

And that’s what matters.

img_9223-5

Leave a Reply

