I may be a little burnt…

But I just spent the last five hours on the beach and I can’t remember the last time I was so content. 

I’m relaxed. 

I can still hear the waves roaring in my ears. 

I had sand between my toes. 

And I’m still warm from the sun. 

For the last five hours I didn’t have a care in the world. 

I didn’t have to be anywhere. I didn’t have to do anything. I didn’t even check what time it was (and for those of you who know me personally you know how huge that is). 

I read my book when I wanted. I took a nap when I wanted. I watched the waves when I wanted. 

Then my best friend showed up and joined in on the relaxation. 

We found more sea glass than we thought we would, we had ice cream for lunch, and we reminisced about times that have passed (some good, some we couldn’t believe we have been through, and others we would rather forget). 

We talked when we wanted. 

We slept when we wanted. 

We only left because the wind started to pick up and even the heat from the sun couldn’t keep our shoulders warm. 

I don’t remember the last time I drove home without a single thing worrying me. 

And this is the reason I can’t be landlocked. 

I need the beach. There is no single other thing on this earth that can calm me like the beach can. 

Now I know the mountains are beautiful and I’m sure the canyons and the deserts are too, but when it comes down to it, I’ll choose saltwater and sand every time.  

Leave a Reply

