Happy first day of Summer!

Well, it is for me at least.

And so far it has started off spectacularly.

I got to sleep in, my roommate and I went to Momma’s Boy for breakfast (so good) and I actually have some time to relax before I go to work.

This semester, well year really, was quite a doozy.

Between school, being stressed, life, and other circumstances, I think I have cried more this year than I have in the last 5 (most of it was for therapeutic reasons). This semester in particular though, this past month was tough. Emotional roller coaster doesn’t even begin to describe it.

But now I can shut off for a little bit and just relax.

The only obligation I have for the next three days is work from 12-5 and that still means I can sleep in.

Come Friday, MOMMA SHAY IS LANDING IN THE ATL.

I am so excited to see her. Four plus months is four too long.

So after I get my butt out of bed and to Hartsfield-Jackson to get her, it’s all smooth sailing.

I have one more soccer game to coach (sad face) and then Mom and I headed out to the great state of North Carolina to see the Biltmore (it’s a make-up Mother’s Day because I wasn’t there this past weekend). It will be some much needed R&R as well as mother-daughter time.

Then it’s back up to Jersey where, if it’s not raining, my butt will be parked on the sand for the next three weeks. I’m so excited to go back to the beach that I start tearing up when I think about it (my body has been deficient in vitamin sea for far too long).

But it can’t be all fun and games because at some point I have to get a review book and flash cards for the GRE (I thought I was done with standardized test taking after I graduated high school. There’s a reason I took the ACT instead of the SAT. UGH).

I’m not worrying about that yet, however. I’m taking the rest of this week to relax and not worry about reading words on a page unless it’s for leisure or a magazine (my constant headaches have just stopped and I really don’t want them to start again just yet).

So here’s to 2016! May it be filled with sunshine, good times, great friends and cold drinks.

img_9223-3

Leave a Reply

