365 Days until Graduation…

This morning I woke up to take a final at 8 am.

Then it dawned on me. I have exactly a year, one, uno until I graduate. May 5, 2017 I will commence being an undergraduate.

How is that even possible?

I technically don’t even complete my junior year until Monday at 3 pm!

So how is it that right now I am a year from 365 days from graduating and on the actual day I will be DONE with junior year I will be even closer to graduating? This is too meta for me.

When I mentioned this to my Mom earlier I’m sure her world turned upside down just a tad faster than mine.

So with only so much time in my undergraduate career, I guess that means I have a lot to do in a very short period of time.

Luckily I’m spending my summer in Athens (for the first time) and my friend have already devised a bucket list of things to do before school (and recruitment) starts again in the fall.

And, of course, making the most of out of my senior year with friends who have been there since the beginning and the new ones I met along the way.

To be honest one of the things I’m most excited about is that I don’t have to move out of my current living situation for the first time in my college career. Packing up the same stuff year after year gets very old, very quickly. Unpacking it is no party either.

Wow. One year.

Have I really already had three years and six semesters of college? It doesn’t feel like it’s been that many yet.

Living in a dorm doesn’t feel like it happened three years ago. Neither does experiencing my first Georgia football game.

I DON’T WANT ONE MORE SEASON AS A STUDENT! IT’S TOO FEW.

Ugh. I’m not ready to have the word “alumni” attached to my name again. In high school it seemed like no big deal, but I feel like in college it’s the real thing.

And it all starts way too fast.

I have to prep for the GRE this summer, take it in the fall and then apply to grad school. Then I’ll be registering for the last class I have to take next spring and figuring out a weekend to decorate my graduation cap with my friend. Then it’s finding a photographer and a day that’s sunny but not too cold to take pictures and cover North Campus in glitter. And before I know it, it’ll be graduation, I’ll finally walk through the Arch, and real life will kind of begin (I view grad school as delaying the real world and continuing to further my studies).

Wow.

I’m not ready for all of that just yet.

So in the words of someone dear to me, “Just take it one day at a time.” And I will.

I’ll try not to rush the days I’m completely stressed out and I’ll remember to relish those experiences I can do “for the last time.”

img_9223-3

Leave a Reply

