Homework Hurts

I’m not talking about the mental or emotional toll (although those can be severe), I’m talking about physical pain.

For the past hour and a half I have been unable to look at a back-lit screen without getting a headache or having my eyes hurt.

Is it because of my recurring stress levels (which are too high for any 21-year-old)? Or is it because all of my homework requires me to be looking black text in a digital format.

To be honest, it’s probably a mixture of the two.

So I’m faced with a dilemma. I can continue to be productive and get work done while being in pain. Or I could take a break from varying brightness levels and feel guilty that I’m not getting anything done.

It’s at times like this where I wish my homework was to read a BOOK. An honest to goodness, bound and printed book. No backlighting, no charging, no clicks. Just a book.

But, alas, online versions are cheaper and you know, college.

So the only books I will be reading any time soon will be for my rhetoric in political campaigns class on my Kindle App (ah the headache is setting in again).

As convenient as working on the computer is, I don’t want it to be my life.

I took handwritten notes today for the first time in months. And it felt great. No underlined words spelled wrong, no uniform letters, just my handwriting on a piece of paper.

I think we forget the value of something handwritten. Technology is the cause of that.

Don’t get me wrong I love and use technology every day but when it physically pains me to type a paragraph on the computer, something is wrong.

My mom would say, “Take a break and read a book.” (an actual book mind you)

Which seems all jim dandy but then I wish falling behind, which increases my stress level, and crams up a different day.

There has to be a balance.

But when I have to monitor a survey, write a trend story, write an itinerary, write a rhetoric paper, and read for a class that is all on my computer, how does it balance out?

Who would have thought that at 21 all I would want to do is write with a pen and paper. Or do an exercise in a work book.

Being a millennial is great and with the amount of resources we have doing papers and research is hundreds of times easier than it was even 15 years ago.

There has got to be a way for me to get everything I have to do done and not suffer a headache at the same time though.

As cluttered as some people think paper is, it might just be what alleviates us. I don’t think my eyes ever hurt from writing on paper. My hand may have cramped up but that’s a different story entirely.

And I really hope my lense prescription hasn’t changed. I really don’t want to get new glasses again.

img_9223-2

Leave a Reply

