The Luck of the Irish

Has made its way into my cooking.

(Let me apologize for not being more consistent lately. My life has taken so many turns over the past few weeks I can’t see straight half the time. Maybe if I get lucky, it will calm down a bit)

I hope all of you had a lovely St. Patrick’s Day and you’re fully functioning at this point.

Corned beef and cabbage is something I look forward to eating on St. Patrick’s Day. It’s great every other day of the year but it is especially good on March 17.

Last year I ventured out and went to find a restaurant in Athens where I could get some. I did find one.

But it was packed (because it was a bar) as one would assume on St. Patrick’s Day. And the quality of the meal I received was not worth the amount I paid for it nor the amount of time I spent waiting for it.

So this year I decided to try to make my own.

I figured I have a crock pot and I’m gone all day so by the time I get back (from an 11 hour day on campus) it should be ready to eat.

And it was.

My roommate and I feasted last night (I even got her to eat some of the cabbage).

So for those of you, who were like me, and are thinking about trying to make this holiday meal but aren’t too sure about it, here’s the recipe I used. It’s probably one of the simplest things I’ve ever made.

Here’s what you need

  • A slow cooker
  • 1 corned beef with a packet of spices
  • A can of beer (whatever kind you like)
  • 4 cups of water
  • 1 onion
  • 8 small potatoes or 4 large ones
  • A half a head of cabbage

Here’s what you do

  • Chop the onion, as large or as finely as you like, and place it in the bottom of the pot
  • Cut the potatoes to your liking and put them on top of the onions
  • Lay the cabbage in layers or cut it into strips and then place that over the potatoes and onions
  • Put 4 cups of water into the pot
  • Put the corned beef on top of the vegetables
  • Pour the beer all over the corned beef and vegetables (I had a tall boy so I used about half a can)
  • Open the spices package that came with the corned beef and spread it all over the top of (just) the meat)
  • Put the lid on, set it on low, and let it cook for around 8 hours (it’s okay if it’s a little longer, the vegetables will just get softer)

Also, remember, corned beef shrinks. A lot. So if you’re planning to cook for a lot of people get one slightly larger than you normally would or buy two.

So whether you are Irish or not I’m sure the simplicity of this meal will be as lucky for you as it was for me.

Now I wonder what the bars are going to with all of that leftover green beer. Hmm.

img_9223-2

Leave a Reply

