395 miles from you to me

There were a few things my Mom told me and my sister when we went to college.

One thing she couldn’t stress enough was not to get into a long distance relationship. 

Oops. 

Sorry Mom. Looks like Alex and I must have tuned that one out. 

Never in a million years would I have thought my sister and I would both be in long distance relationships. 

My boyfriend left today and hers leaves tomorrow. 

And you don’t think it’s hard when people tell you it is. 

You think “oh I can handle it.”

But it takes a lot to “handle it.”

It’s late night calls or FaceTime (which I prefer because I can see his face and hear his voice), texts between classes, and whatever else you can fit in to make it feel like they’re part of your life from hundreds of miles away. 

As hard as it is though, it’s so worth it. 

I was scrolling through Facebook and came across this, which sums the majority of it up perfectly. 

Although it misses a few things. 

It forgets to mention how seeing them makes a Monday bearable, how something so mundane as making dinner becomes something else when you do it together, or how spending the afternoon watching cartoons is acceptable because it’s something you’re doing together. 

I drove him to the airport this morning  with his bulldog cap on (which he bought on his on accord with no prompting from me I might add) and I only cried until I got onto 285. 

And when he reads this he’s going to say “don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened” and I am. I’m always smiling. And I’ll tell him I only cried because I care. 

So I hope my sister and her boyfriend are having as good of a time this weekend as I did this past week. 

Now I just have to mentally prepare to meet his (almost entire) family on Easter. 

  

Leave a Reply

