Blizzards, or lack there of

So my parents have been under “blizzard watch” since 12pm today. The Northeast is preparing to get pummeled.

You know that’s happening when all of the paper towels, bread, and peanut butter are gone from the grocery store shelves.

Jersey is expecting 4-11 inches, Philadelphia is expecting 22, and Maryville, Tennessee had a dusting yesterday and has not had class since Tuesday.

How do I know this?

My boyfriend hasn’t had class for the last two days.

That just shows how differently the North and the South handle snow storms.

My freshman year of college we had “Snowpocalypse 2014,” which was about an inch of crunch (snow that is impossible to make anything with), and didn’t have class for almost a week and Atlanta literally shut down.

Things are just a tad different in the Northeast.

When I was a junior in high school, we had what my Mom called “a blizzard party.” We were trying to get to Vermont and there was so much snow on the ground that we couldn’t turn around to get home. We were 2 miles from our house and we had to go to my friends for the night because we were actually unable to get home. But we had a good time.

I’ve gone to school with two feet of snow on the ground. I’ve had lacrosse practice with snow on the ground. If the buses could get out and there was salt to be spread, life carried on as usual.

One blizzard I will never forget, however, was the end of Presidents Weekend in 2003.

We were on our way home from Vermont (where it was -25 for the weekend) and we pull up to our house to find FOUR FEET of snow in the driveway.

My sister and I, being the tender ages of 8 and 6, were to be of no help.

So my father trudged through the snow, in jeans, made it to the garage, and got the snow blower going.

He had to carve a path wide enough for my Mom’s truck to get through. It took awhile.

But, since the roads were clear my sister and I did have school the next day.

If there was ever that much snow here, I think the state would shut down. Maybe even the South.

Even today in one of my classes we were talking about the weather, and my professor looked at me and said, “Yes, all of you Yankees are laughing at us.”

I turned to my friend who’s from Colorado and we just smiled, had any of the other kids in the room ever seen the amounts of snow we have, I don’t know if they would know how to react.

I have to say I do snicker a bit when people here freak out over less than an inch of frozen water. But that’s because there are two snow plows in the whole state and they weren’t raised to be able to deal with copious amounts of snow.

Personally I think winter looks a little prettier that way.

If it’s going to be less than 30 degrees I better have something to look at besides bare branches and grey skies.

img_9223-1

 

 

Leave a Reply

