Roommate(s)

Something that more often than not is unavoidable in college.

It could be one other person, two, three, or maybe even four or more (personally I don’t think I could handle more than one anymore).

Whether it is a positive experience, or a negative one, that person, or people, will always be a part of your life somehow.

I have been fortunate enough to err on the side of positive experiences more than negative ones. Especially this year.

I’ve known my current roommate literally since day one at Georgia. She was one of the first people I met at orientation.

And here’s how we met.

My flight was canceled the night before and I arrived at orientation almost THREE hours late (and most of you know how much I detest being late). Not to mention, I didn’t know a single person. So if there were pre-meeting mingling sessions, I missed those.

Fast forward to the end of the first night. We were in Brumby and the orientation leaders threw us a “pizza party.” I wouldn’t called it that exactly.

Anyway, so I’m looking around, probably with a very lost look on my face, and there’s a girl leaning up against the wall who had an uncanny resemblance to one of my cousins. I had nothing to lose, so I went up and said “hi.”

The rest is history.

Between Sunday night dinners freshman year, going to Mr. Milledge together, and laughing until our sides hurt this year, Ashlyn and I have been through a lot.

And I wanted to thank her for all of the times she has been there for me over the years.

There was that incident freshman year that I can now laugh about (but I’m still slightly embarrassed about), being the only person who told me my ex was not a good choice, and letting me cry on her shoulder for an hour when a boy was being dumb (for lack of a better term).

She knows how to make me laugh when I’m at my lowest (sometimes through interpretive dance) and at my highs (like when she shows me some ridiculously video she found on YouTube).

The past few months have been filled with great times and we can be dangerously goofy when put together.

She likes living with me so much that we resigned our lease for senior year.

So Ash, thank you for everything.

I love living with someone who loves football as much as I do, teases me about my bird food and water, and will sing at the top of their lungs with me as we road trip it god knows where.

I hope I have made your experience living with me as much fun as you have made it for me.

(I even love living with your cat even though he makes me sneeze and knocks everything off of my dresser, living here wouldn’t be the same without him)

So was this enough of a shout-out?

If not, let me know and I’ll rework it, hope you’re enjoying your 8 am!

img_9223

Leave a Reply

