Ink’d

Today I got my first (and probably only) tattoo. 

Actually, my sister and I went together and got the same one. 

Now I know some of you reading this may be freaking out. But a lot of thought and planning went into this. 

For a while I wanted to get a tattoo. Nothing crazy and something that meant something. And thats exactly what this one is. 

The first line is the coordinates of Monmouth county. It’s where I’m from. It’s where I grew up. It’s where most of my life has been. And I know in my heart I won’t come back to live here for the rest of my life. So I decided to take part of it with me wherever my life takes me. 

The second line is beach waves. There are four. One for me, my sister, my mom, and my dad. I grew up on the beach. We grew as a family on the beach. It’s a huge part of our lives. It has defined my character. I can’t live without a coast line. 

The third line relates to my Italian heritage as well as connects me to my sister. The phrase loosely translates to “sister you keep me.”  Even though we no longer live in the same house all the time, we are each other’s keepers. She will always be my little sister and we will always have each other’s backs no matter how much we fight. 

So that is what my tattoo means. 

And yes Amy and Tony know about it. Alex and I weren’t about to sign off on something that without parental approval would hinder the rest of our higher education. 

Now I’ve heard tattoos are addicting. 

For the life of me I can’t understand why. 

That was the single most painful thing I have ever experienced. And I don’t plan on doing it again. 

So this was my one and I’m done. 

It’s in a spot where a judge can’t see, it won’t show on my wedding day, and I think it’s in a tasteful area as far as tattoo  placement goes. 

To be honest I’m still I shock I actually have one. Although the stinging pain for the last couple hours was a constant reminder. 

So for those of you who are considering one, put a lot of thought into it. 

It’s permanent. 

  

Leave a Reply

