Dear Future Husband,

(Thank you Meghan Trainor for the idea)

I don’t know about you guys, but every time I would refresh any of my newsfeeds in the past month, it seems everyone is getting engaged.

Some are people I know, some are celebs, and some are my age. That is by far the scariest one.

Meanwhile my friends and I watch YouTube videos for hours and play with cats because we’re some of the few who are not engaged (or in very committed relationships).

So I got to thinking, if I was to say yes to Mr. Right, somewhere VERY far down the road, that wouldn’t be a decision taken lightly.

There’s a few qualifications he needs to meet (and they’re not ridiculous) and a few things he has to be okay with. And there is no doubt in my mind that whoever my future husband is, before he pops the question, he’ll come across this post (whether it’s by way of me, my sister, or a few of my friends). I figured I’d give him the heads up about a few things.

Dear Future Husband,

The beach is a deal breaker. I need a coast, I can’t be landlocked. Lakes are great for tubing but they can’t be my only source of natural water. I need the changing tide and salt water. If you don’t like the beach, well, I just don’t know.

I only have one stipulation for the wedding that, God willing, must be adhered to. My Dad’s cousin is a priest and he married my parents. If he is still walking the earth when I walk down the aisle, he is performing the ceremony. And by the way, I’m Catholic.

I really want to name my (our) first kid, Shay. I don’t have any brothers or male cousins (any cousins for that matter) so I’d really like to carry on my family name.

I’m kind of obsessed with “Star Wars” so I may geek out from time to time especially if one of the new movies is on the horizon. That’s something you can either roll your eyes at or join on in with me.

Dawgs. I am a Georgia Bulldog fan. You can cheer for any other team you like but you best expect me to spit fire if you don’t cheer for the Dawgs and your team is playing mine. Sorry babe, I bleed Red and Black.

I don’t believe in divorce. This is a one time deal. I won’t say yes unless I’m all in so don’t ask unless you are too. I’ll talk until I’m blue in the face and the sun sets and rises. I grew up in a solid marriage and I want that for my kids too.

So I think I hit all of the major points.

Now I know there’s going to be some things about me that will drive him up the wall. But I’m sure there are going to be things he’ll do that I’ll complain to my Mom about as well.

Either way, we’ll figure it all out. I just hope he doesn’t mind these few things about me.

img_9223

Leave a Reply

