2015 in Review

2015 was an interesting year to say the least.

It was the year that I was half-way done with my undergrad college experience (that’s a scary thought).

I started my major classes and decided to pick up a minor and a certificate while I was at it.

I worked football practice for the first time (I nearly missed the first one) and actually got to know the players not by their prowess on the field but as friends.

I started a blog (and I think I’m okay at it).

I survived my first time living off campus without a car (barely).

I had my heart broken, badly, but came out of it a much stronger person.

I watched my little sister GRADUATE high school. Now she’s at (a rival) college. It’s weird.

I also spent my first summer away from home and even though I was with family, it was much harder than I thought it was going to be.

I spent a weekend in Disney with some people who made me laugh and put up with my childish antics.

I was surprised with my first car,  Jeffrey, and he’s the greatest. I even drove him 16 hours, straight, all the way to Georgia.

I moved into my first HOUSE and slept on an air mattress for a month until mine arrived in September (a friend even let me stay on his couch because he knew I had no bed at home).

I started the hardest semester of my life so far. Between classes, work, and  games, it was very stressful. But I survived and my grades were alright.

I’ve become a pretty good cook. I even tackled chicken parm on my own.

I went on more dates in the past four months than I have in my entire life. And it was really nice. It didn’t work out but it was nice getting to know new people.

I joined a sorority. Something I never thought I would do and I have met some amazing girls who will only give me more to look forward to in college.

I wrote some more for the website at school and for a magazine.

I have laughed harder with my roommate over YouTube videos than I ever thought possible.

I turned 21. Oh what a time, and next morning, it was.

I passed all of my exams, somehow (my roommate and I decided to go hiking instead of studying one day).

I saw “Star Wars: The Force Awakens” with the best people I could have asked for (THREE times since it has come out).

I was reunited with one of my best friends who I haven’t seen since I was 17.  And we proceeded to drink a little too much on Christmas Eve. Hopefully it won’t be another five years before we see each other again (I won’t allow it).

I learned how to zip-line between trees and got up to speeds of 35-40 mph. I also learned how to repel down from a tree.

I watched my alma mater WIN a basketball game against a PUBLIC school (for those of you who knew where I went to hs you would understand how monumental this is). They still can’t rebound however.

And now I’m home, Dad is cooking bacon, and we’re going into the City to see “The Nutcracker,” very excited.

So 2015 was an interesting year. There were some great times and some not so great times. But as good as the good times were, I’m ready for 2015 to be over. There are some things I just need to put behind me and have them stay there.

I hope you all have a very Happy New Year filled with friends, family, and some fizzy drinks as well.

img_9223

Leave a Reply

