Star Wars: The Force Awakens

WAS AMAZING (Don’t worry I won’t give out any spoilers)

But I will say this, there weren’t words to be spoken once the credits were done rolling. Neither I, nor any of my friends, could find the them.

It was everything we wanted it to be and more.

(Oh and fun fact, we waited outside for FIVE minutes. Even though we were the 9 o’clock show they let us in the theater at 7:15. Sitting around in there was much better than sitting around in the cold)

So, of course, we wanted to keep discussing it but didn’t want to spoil it for others. Waffle House it was (mostly because it was the only thing open that late in a non-college town. Athens really does make you form some bad habits that you just can’t fulfill at home).

We discussed the new movie, the old movie, and the new movies coming out (362 days until “Rogue One” and Episode eight comes out in 2018. It’s going to be a LONG two years) over waffles and biscuits.

I couldn’t have asked for a better group of friends to go see it with either. It’s not everyday that you find a group of people who are as obsessed with something as you are. We had quite the array of Star Wars shirts, socks, and shoes let me tell you.

Now I know how my Dad felt when he was waiting for “Return of the Jedi” to come out after “The Empire Strikes Back,” waiting sucks. And patience and I are still on our permanent break.

For those of you who think I’m nuts and don’t understand the hype about all of this (like these two high school girls who were behind me and my friend in line for coffee yesterday), don’t hate it until you try it.

It’s a new director, it had a slightly new feel, and it was a brand new story (more or less). You could know nothing about the other six movies and still feel in the loop (I’m sure that was on purpose).

Now I don’t know about the rest of you, but I’m going to see it. Again. In theaters. When I get home. With my Dad. And then with my friend. Again.

Because last night was all about the experience and the awesomeness that is “Star Wars.”

The next two times I see it next week will be about appreciating it in it’s entirety because I know what will be coming and I won’t be hit with, as many, emotions as at once.

But, of course, knowing what’s coming gets you hyped as well. So who am I kidding, it’s going to be just as good if not better.

I know that most of you are probably sick about hearing anything thing that has to do with “Star Wars” (I’ll admit their marketing has gotten a tad ridiculous) but just bare with it and maybe even embrace it.

There are only so many times in your life you can say “I went to the premiere of ____” or “I saw ____ when it FIRST came out.” And now I can say that.

May The Force Be With You

IMG_9223-3

Leave a Reply

