It’s the season of Thanks

And this is a thank-you, for the football team and especially the seniors, from a few of your biggest fans for all of the work you’ve done this season.

The kids who work in the Sports Comm.

You may see us running around on all floors of Butts-Mehre Heritage Hall, on the field at practice, or ferrying you to various people on conference day.

But you may not understand why we do it.

I’m not going to speak for everyone but I think that what I have to say most will agree with.

We do this because we absolutely love everything there is to love about football (and of course all of the other sports).

How else could we give up our time in the student section or time to tailgate if we didn’t?

We’re there as early as you are. And we’re there just as late. We don’t get to tailgate because we have to make sure everything is running smoothly in the press box. We don’t get to leave when that clock hits 0:00 because we still have work to do.

And we don’t get to cheer.

But you all have no idea how loudly we really cheer for you.

We can’t do it with our voices. We do it by making eye contact, making fists until it hurts, trying to catch ourselves before we jump, and we cover our mouths to hide our facial expressions (and also so no sound comes out).

If given the opportunity, we would be the loudest people on the field.

We sacrifice so many things but it is worth every second of it.

It is worth being at work at 6:45 a.m., having 10-hour days on the weekend, and not leaving until midnight.

I could not have asked for a more amazing experience at college. I am privileged to be able to continue doing it for the next year and a half.

So, Dawgs, thank you for making our jobs worth every second.

And seniors.

I have had the pleasure of getting to know some of you this year. (Some of you might only recognize my face but a few of you know my name. Small victories) I will miss seeing all of you representing the Red and Black between the Hedges but I know that you all have amazing things ahead of you.

Now I know we still have one more game left but that one I will be watching on a split screen from New Jersey (I have to give my sister half the screen for her rivalry game but we all know the South Carolina-Clemson game won’t be much of a game. Sorry Alex).

It’s sad to see another football season come and go but I still have this to say:

Two simple words that express the sentiments of the entire Bulldawg Nation…

WRECK TECH

IMG_9223-3

Leave a Reply

