Currently planning the next three years of my life

You think I’m joking.

It all started last week when I went to an info session for the master’s program that I thought I was going to do (I know I’m ridiculous. I tend to do everything early just in case. And it was a good thing I did).

Turns out, it wasn’t what I expected and that one meeting flipped around all of my grad school AND graduation plans.

I found myself talking to my Mom one morning this week and she said, “Ashleigh you need to make a decision about this.” Staring in disbelief at no one in particular I said, “Mom. I can’t even think about what I’m doing next week I’m so stressed out. You honestly expect me to make a decision TODAY that will affect the next three years of my life?”

She let up on me, a bit, but I still talked to five or six different people over the course of this week to try to get some semblance of a plan together.

First I was going to graduate on-time, then I was going to graduate early (aka a year from now. Scary thought), and now I’m back to graduating on-time.

Luckily I have some amazing resources whom I was able to utilize to get all of the information I needed.

After talking with two of my bosses, both of my parents, two colleagues, and three advisors, I think I have it all figured out (of course, everything is subject to change but fingers crossed it all works out).

I’m graduating on-time, going to grad school to pursue a different master’s, and hopefully have a GA position (that could be the determining factor in all of this).

So there’s that. And somehow, during the midst of all of this craziness, I was able to score an internship for the summer! No more cover letters, applications, and transcripts for me! (well, at least for the next couple of months). And the best part is, I don’t have to move or find anywhere else to live.

But now can I just pause for a minute and rant about how RIDICULOUS it is that I have to plan, essentially in the next two months, for what I’m doing three years from now?

When I was talking to my advisors about my internship to get a POD (which is a permission of department. You know, capstone requirements and such), they were shocked. First off, because we, students, have to register for SUMMER, not just spring, classes now. And that I have to plan my schedule in February which is going to affect when I graduate.

I like to think I’m very organized and on the ball. But I didn’t ever think I would be planning for my life at 23 while I was still 20.

My biggest concern this week was finding a date for semi-formal, which I did, and making it to the airport on Monday.

I have never been in such a need of New Jersey. I love Athens and all, but I need a break. School has been kicking my butt (and even though I know I’m going to be doing work over the break), I need to go home and recharge.

It’s nothing a few home cooked meals, the beach, and late-night Inkwell with friends can’t fix.

IMG_0377

Leave a Reply

