It’s a Small World

You know the phrases “everybody knows somebody” and “six degrees of separation.” You’ve heard them from your friends, parents, teachers, etc.

Now it’s one thing to hear something but another to fully understand it. I didn’t realize how small the world really was until I came to college.

When I came here I did not know a single soul. Honestly. I walked into orientation, leaving the only people I knew behind, my parents, and entered a room filled with unfamiliar faces.

Of course that was the beginning, and now I know many people, but I’m just trying to set the stage for you.

Many of my friends were going to school with people from my high school or meeting up with kids older than us. I was not so lucky to do so.

I was actually the first person from my high school to EVER apply to the University of Georgia (and we had someone go to TECH. Go figure). Anyway, back to the point I’m trying to make.

The first time I encountered it (it meaning a “small world”) was during formal recruitment the week before the start of freshman year. I met these twin girls. They were from North Jersey. Ding. They played lacrosse. Ding. They hated the same team I did that we played in high school. DING.

There were over 1,000 girls rushing and I happened to meet two of them from New Jersey who played lacrosse. What are the odds?

Now I haven’t had a crazy connection like that one for a while. That is, until this week.

Yesterday I found out that one of the quarterbacks was from New Jersey (disclaimer whenever I find out that someone who goes to Georgia is from New Jersey I get unnecessarily excited). Well, slightly.

By chance I ran into him today before he got into one of the meetings they have before practice. Not going to lie I totally caught him off guard because, let’s be honest, he has no clue who I am (or at least he didn’t before).

Although once I mentioned New Jersey and Monmouth County he seemed more interested.

Long story short, he grew up in the town right next to my high school. Who would have thought? I have a connection with one of UGA’s quarterbacks (besides working for the athletic department).

Not to mention, we are a minimum of 800 miles from the source of our commonality.

He could have brushed it off (and thought I was crazy) but he stuck his hand out and introduced himself (even though I already knew who he was). And that was really nice.

I guess the point I’m trying to make is that you never know who you’re going to find out there. My mom always says never to use last names because everybody knows somebody and now I know it’s true.

But, let’s be real for a moment, the real question I have to ask him is: is it pork roll or taylor ham? There’s only one right answer (for those of you who know me you know what it is) and that could be the determining factor whether he becomes my favorite quarterback this year or not.

Will I find out? Maybe, maybe not. But, I have to say, it’s pretty cool that I have a connection with one of the UGA quarterbacks.

IMG_9223-2

Leave a Reply

