Let the countdown begin!

I won’t get into my 21st birthday (35 days), Star Wars (43 days), or Christmas (50 days) just yet. I’ll rant about those once it’s December. For now I’ll just focus on the big countdown for this month: coming home for the first time this semester.

Maybe I didn’t appreciate coming home as much in the past, because I got to do it more often, but I’m so excited to come home.

19 days and counting. Not that I don’t love going to school here in Georgia but I need a healthy dose of New Jersey.

And that includes, but is not limited to:

  • My family
  • My friends from high school
  • PIZZA
  • The Beach
  • Rook
  • Late Night Inkwell
  • A pork roll, egg, and cheese

Every now and then school just gets to you. You’re stressed out (my eye was twitching for the last two days), you have a group project (what a cursed word) in every class but one (and in that one other class you have a paper to write), football and basketball are about to be back-to-back, and you’re way too close to losing it.

The thought that I get to sleep in my own bed, have home cooked meals, and see people I haven’t seen in a long time is the one thing that will be getting me through these next two and a half weeks. It’s going to be long. It might give me some premature gray hairs. But I’m sure I’ll be able to get through it.

But the next two and a half weeks are not all bad. I still have football practice (which I love, although tonight bordered on ridiculous), I’m hanging out with friends (hopefully seeing some I haven’t in a while), and enjoying the rest of the (regular) football season.

Could I do without all of the group projects at the same time? Of course! Having this many group projects at one time should be illegal (I know there’s UGA guidelines or something. It should be in there).

So, for the rest of the night, I am going to relish in the fact that the CMA’s opened with a  “Star Wars” theme and that Hairy Dawg will be on stage soon (maybe I’ll make it to the CMA’s one day. Not on stage, but in the crowd somewhere). Not to mention, all of those country boys are looking FINE tonight.

Before I forget, I have to give a special thanks to my friend Molly King for enabling me to fly home early. Originally I was supposed to fly home Thanksgiving MORNING (aka the worst day of the year to fly and I would have to fly back to Georgia three days later). By offering to switch our game duties, she has allowed me to be able to fly home Monday morning instead. I will be at home for almost a week instead of three days. Thank you so much Molly. You have no idea how much this means to me and my family. I owe you big time.

IMG_9223-2

One thought on “Let the countdown begin!

Leave a Reply

