I don’t know how people pull all-nighters

I’m currently trying to stay awake as I read over Plato’s Gorgias, Isocrates’ Against the Sophists, and Quintilian’s The Orator’s Education for a quiz tomorrow. Sounds thrilling doesn’t it?

Anyway, I’m nearly falling asleep in my chair and students all around me are working like it’s the middle of the day. How do they do it?

I’m sure coffee and or anything else with caffeine in it plays a part in it but still.

My brain is about a half hour from shutting out anything school related. I keep trying to turn it off but nothing good happens when I do. I tried to power through it once my freshman year while studying for a stats final and the room started spinning. And I haven’t tried again since.

I’ve just come to the conclusion that I am most productive during the daylight hours and when it gets to 10 on a week night, I turn into a pumpkin.

Honestly. I don’t feel like I’m a real college student sometimes.

There have been a few nights where I look at the clock and think “I’m going to do it. Tonight is the night I am going to pull an all-nighter studying for (fill in the blank).” Then 10:30 rolls around and sleep wins out.

So I’m pretty much a grandma but a couple of my friends have told me similar stories so maybe it’s out majors that age us… At least, I like to think so.

So tonight is completely out of the ordinary. Not to mention, I’m even at the student center. That never happens. I don’t think I’ve been here past 8 pm since my freshman year.

That’s because I’m the type of person who likes to study at home. Everything I need is there. And I know where the majority of it is located. I’m comfortable, I can have music on as loud as I want (unless my roommate is home), and I know whatever I need is around my desk somewhere. It’s a pretty good set up if you ask me.

Being here, aka not at my desk in my room, is a different story entirely. There are social rules, the chairs are no where near as comfortable as mine, and I have to drive home (did I mention that it was cold and raining? Well it is).

On the bright side, there is a very cute boy studying across from me and he is honestly the only reason I’m here. (Is it still a study date if you’re studying different things and barely speaking because of the copious amounts of work you both have to do?) So I guess I can suck it up and branch out of my study comfort zone every once and a while (people say being home is a distraction. Try having a cute boy sit in front of you for 2+ hours. Then you tell me how much studying you actually get done).

IMG_9223-1

Leave a Reply

