Sometimes when I throw stuff together, it works

And tonight was the night that one of my “creations” tastes great.

Teaching yourself to cook in college is a challenge. You’re your own taste tester and biggest critic.

So anyway, I was craving Mexican. I had an avocado that I had to use, and I knew there was chicken in my freezer. Fajitas was the first thing that came to mind.

But I didn’t have any peppers or Mexican spices (it’s pretty much all Italian. Can you sense a theme?). Therefore, I had to improvise.

I channeled my inner “Chopped” knowledge coupled with some things I read on Pinterest, and I got to work.

Ingredients

  • 2 pieces of chicken (mine were slightly larger than my fist)
  • half an onion
  • one zucchini
  • spices (garlic, salt, pepper, paprika, and Old Bay)
  • vegetable oil

It’s not a terribly long list and the majority can be found in your pantry/fridge.

First off, preheat the oven to 350 and spray a cookie sheet with canola oil (just enough to coat it).

Chop the onion, not finely but in bite sized pieces and then put them on the tray.

Chop the zucchini (however you like it) and add that to the onions too.

Slice the chicken into strips, about the length of your finger but not longer than that. Put those on the pan as well.

Drizzle THREE CAPFULS of vegetable oil (seriously that’s all you need), sprinkle spices accordingly, and mix together by hand.

Place into oven for about 35 minutes. While that’s cooking, you can whip up a quick guac too (I was short on fresh supplies so I added lime juice to some chunky salsa I had and added that in).

Then you pull it out and admire your work.

If you’re making it for one, it makes enough for seconds with some leftover. Otherwise it could feed two girls or one guy (and I say that because my guy friends make the portions I eat look like baby ones).

It should come up off the pan easy with a spatula. Place it onto a tortilla like I did or put it over some rice with the guac you made (either way it’s delicious).

This is one of the meals I can pat myself on the back for. It’s relatively healthy and it’s quick and easy to make.

I do miss that “fajita” flavor but I think that could be remedied by expanding the culture of my spice rack (as much as I love my oregano, I could use some chile powder and cumin).

Building my recipe knowledge is something I take pride in. I taught myself how to make Italian and BBQ ribs last year, maybe this year I’ll tackle more Mexican and Chinese. Or maybe I’ll stick to perfecting a pan made burger (I have no grille here. Sad face). So we shall see.

If it’s good, I’ll make it for others. If it’s not, that means it still needs some work. So if I ever offer to make you food, be assured that I know that said recipe works and it does taste good.

IMG_9223-0

Leave a Reply

