When the parents come into town

Picture circa 2013 (obviously we need to take a new one) 

When I decided to go to college out of state, I didn’t realize how much I had relied on my parents. 

If something was broken or I was trying to figure out a problem, I’d go to my Dad. If I had a question about cooking, laundry, or just life in general, I’d go find my Mom. 

In college, I couldn’t walk around the corner to find them. When something broke at 11 pm or I completely burned something, Mom and Dad weren’t around the corner to help me out. 

That’s part of the reason why I enjoy when they come to visit so much. I get to be a kid again (I also don’t have to provide my own food for a couple of days). 

Their visits are usually only a few times a semester. Last year I only saw them once before Christmas. This year I’m a little more lucky because they’re coming for not one but two football games. 

Including this weekend. Oh and my sister is coming with them too. Did I mention she goes to the rival we’re playing this weekend? Safe to say either way there is going to be major trash talking (although I’m convinced there’s gong to be chicken for dinner tomorrow). 

The Shay house is one divided. And this game is the start to yet another life long rivalry between siblings. 

Back to the joys of family being in town. 

They should all get here around 6-7 (traffic permitting). Then we’re all getting dinner, my sister is getting her first taste of Athens (hopefully it doesn’t win), and then we’re in the full swing of Game Day tomorrow. Hopefully we find somewhere to tailgate before I have to go to work…

So I can’t wait to see them for the next 48-72 hours. Now I just have to cross my fingers that my parents make it to the airport on time because on their way there I mentioned it was a red out. My Mom promptly turned the car around to switch out her black dress. My Dad might kill me. But I’m sure they’ll get there on time. Otherwise it’ll be my fault 😁 

 

Leave a Reply

