Going Greek

So I got offered a bid for a sorority last night. And I’m going to take it.

This wasn’t something I had originally thought was going to happen this year, or even during college.

I participated in formal recruitment my freshman year and being overwhelmed was an understatement. Not really knowing anyone going in and being taken all over campus looking at houses was a little too much to handle the day after I moved in.

So after three days I decided to drop it and get to know the people who lived on my hall. I am eternally grateful for the friends I met there. A majority of them are who I consider my closest friends here at college. But, at the same time, I felt like I had missed out on something.

My two best friends from home ended up joining sororities at their respective schools during and after our freshman years. After hearing their stories and seeing their pictures, I was a little jealous. I felt like on that level I wasn’t able to relate to them.

Don’t get me wrong I have had so much fun the past two years and I have had some amazing experiences. I have an incredible job that I love and I have friends who I know will be there for me if I ever need anything.

But an opportunity presented itself, one that was much less stressful than formal rush, and I decided to jump on it.

And I’m glad I did.

So I am in the process of becoming part of the Delta Phi Epsilon sorority. (My phone is already blowing up with Facebook and Instagram requests)

There are 250 of us (aka a full chapter) and I hope I somehow get to meet all of these amazing girls who I will now be able to call my sisters.

Now I’m going to have to figure out how to work socials, chapter, and various other functions into my already busy calendar. Luckily chapter is not when I have football practice, phew. Dodged a major bullet there.

Safe to say this week has been pretty awesome. I had Monday off, no class Tuesday, received a bid last night, I got published on georgiadogs.com this morning, tomorrow is Friday, and we’re going to kick Commodore butt this weekend in Nashville.

This semester started off a little rocky but I think everything is finally starting to come together (my best friend is already in the midst of making me a letter jersey. Fabric should be in to her by Wednesday).

IMG_9223

One thought on “Going Greek

Leave a Reply

