The Importance of chill weekends with Friends

(Disclaimer: sorry I’ve been so MIA. If you saw my calendar you would understand)

I have to say, the past two days have been really nice.

To start, FOOTBALL started yesterday! Man that was a long work day (coupled with the fact that I was running off 4 hours of sleep and 1 cup of coffee… That’s what happens when I try to have a social life).

Not to mention we had not one, but two rain delays. After the second one, the athletic director was brought on to the field, contract in hand, and signed the check for ULM right then and there.

Once work was done and I finally got something to eat, I once again became social.

Every now and then you just have to sit around and talk everything out (We called it “real talk” last night). That way, in case you have a problem with someone or someone has a problem with you, things are worked out face to face with words. We’re all trying to be a little less passive (because really it’s annoying as anything and nearly every one does it).

So real talk started at 8:30 and went until about 1:30. Safe to say we had a lot to talk about (there were a lot of laughs, it wasn’t all bad things).

After real talk, we decided to watch Star Wars (the four of us who were there are Star Wars junkies. No shame). *Sigh* Episode III always makes me sad. I love the movie but it’s still sad.

That lasted until almost 4 am and I was fighting to stay awake (because who falls asleep during Star Wars?). I succeeded then to promptly pass out on their couch.

After my body decided to hate me and wake me up at 7:15, I came back home, and slept until 11:30.

And then somehow today turned into Roommate day. It was awesome.

It started with looking up this new hair tool that straightens and curls your hair (like 4 different ways), I watched Ashlyn win an Ebay battle, we did abs (ow), then spent the better part of the afternoon at the pool.

It was lovely. We read, we enjoyed the water, we caught up, and we just relaxed. It was what I needed after a very stressful week.

Once we had enough sunshine (gotta keep that tan up somehow) we made some mac n’ cheese, and watched “America Ninja Warrior.” That show is amazing.

So now she just left for work and I’m about to head off to meet a friend,

These unplanned weekends where everything just kind of comes together and no major planning (or driving) is needed, are few and far between. But they are the best. You share more, you laugh more, and you become better friends.

I’m in my third year of college, and there are very few people I talk to on a consistent basis from my freshman year. I hold those friends close to my heart. If we’ve made it this far, I have a feeling I’m going to know them for a very long time.

And weekends like these are when those bonds become stronger. So you don’t always have to have something crazy planned for every weekend. You have to remember to take a break every once and a while, hash it out (if needed), and just have a good time.

IMG_9223

Leave a Reply

