Haters gonna hate.

I’m going on record saying that if you don’t care for what I have to say and you’re going to make fun of me, just don’t read what I write. If what I have to say is of no benefit to you, don’t bother reading.

On the flip side, however, these “haters” are still reading something that they have no interest in. That definitely speaks toward their character.

What kind of world does that mean we live in anyway?

Does this mean that we live in a world where when people want to be creative, express their views, and have the courage to put it in the public arena should be ridiculed for it?

People should be shamed and put down because of something they believe in? Something that brings them joy or helps them get through the day, that is definitely something that people should tear down.

I have always been a writer. It’s an outlet for me like music is for one of my friends and drawing is for another. Do I understand the art they create? Do I always like it? No. Do I ever make fun of them for it or put them down for it? NEVER.

I hope the people that do those things are able to look at the person they see in the mirror.

I started this blog because I was living in an unfamiliar place and didn’t always know how to blend in. I’m a Jersey girl born and raised going to a school in a part of the country that is so different from where I grew up. Think Chris Christie meets Zell Miller.

I do my best to make this seem interesting and relevant. I know that some posts are more interesting than others. But I post to show that I’m dedicated. And for those who are interested in what I have to say, I’m showing consistency. I give 110% into (almost) everything that I do (not going to lie here). This is something I started and I challenged myself to do a post every other day. For the most part I have stuck to that promise. And I don’t see myself stopping anytime soon.

The point of this post is not to call out those who I was told that were making fun of my writing. It is to call attention to their actions. If everyone’s latest project, idea, or art was judged and taken down, what would we have? Where would we be? Stuck in a virtual “high school” in which everyone is judged on the outside, talked about behind their backs, and ridiculed? I don’t know about you, but that is not a world I would want to live in.

After experiencing the hurt I have felt today I am going to do everything in my power going to forward to not judge something someone puts time and effort into. We do not agree or like everything in the world, but there is nothing wrong with giving that person a pat on the back and saying, “Good job, you put yourself out there.”

IMG_9223

Leave a Reply

