Today has been pretty much a perfect day

There are few days in life when nothing goes wrong and you’re not stressed. I was blessed with one of those days today.

It started with good company and a great cup of coffee (Rook) followed by an equally amazing donut (Broad Street Donut Co).

Then the majority of my day was spend on the beach (one of my favorite places). The weather was perfect. It wasn’t too hot, there was a cool breeze coming off the ocean, and there was just enough random cloud coverage.

Did I mention that the water was WARM? Well, warm for where I live. It’s not the bathtub temperatures that exist from North Carolina down, but it was warm enough to the point where I didn’t make a “Oh jeez!” face when the wave crashed on to me.

Coupled with the warm temperatures, was the calmness of the ocean. It was so peaceful it was almost flat (but there was movement. I need movement in the water. Part of the reason why I can’t do lakes, stagnant water skeeves me out) I could have stayed in there all day.

But I didn’t because Mom wanted to walk by the water and my best friend, finally, showed up around 2. Cue me jumping on her and nearly making her pee her pants (yes almost happened). But she forgave me 😀

So after a glorious day at the beach, I got a much needed hair cut, and then some really good Italian for dinner.

I would put this place up against my Dad’s cooking (he would too). It’s a little place, no reservations, on the corner of Main Street in Bradley Beach. There’s maybe 15 tables in the entire restaurant and if you don’t know the owner, like we do, you’re limited to a party of 4 (and don’t even think you’re getting near that place on the weekend this time of year. We went on a Thursday for a reason).

There were rice balls, spadini (which is fried grilled cheese covered in marinara sauce. YUM), and some chicken-cheese-prosciutto deliciousness that was my main meal (I had to take half of it home. That stuff is too good to waste).

After a good meal, with good friends, it was time to put on an oversized Georgia tee and pop open a bottle of wine with Momma (she’s the one drinking. Most of it).

There are few of these days when everything goes exactly right with no hiccups. We have to appreciate them because, before I know it, I’m going to have 2 exams, a project, work, 3 sporting events to work, and still find time to sleep.

As excited as I am to go back to school, I love these chill days with family and friends. Luckily I have a few days left at home to relax, finish packing, and park my butt on the sand one last time (as my Mother reminds me “You’re leaving me in three days and you’re not going to have anyone but Ashlyn and her cat” *cue scrunched up meanie pants face*).

IMG_9223

Leave a Reply

