It’s been real Florida

So my time in the Sunshine state has come to an end. Well, it will tomorrow after I board.

I had some experiences this summer I never expected, and I learned some things along the way too.

Highlights Summer 2015 (thus far)

  • Going to Universal (something I haven’t done since I was 16)
  • Surviving a 3-day swim meet (it’s not all chlorine and swim caps let me tell you)
  • Seeing Nelly, TLC, and New Kids on The Block all in one night (feeling very young)
  • Meeting some amazing friends at camp (PIGOLIET)
  • Laughing until I almost fell out of my chain in a Menchies
  • Dancing until 4 am, being at camp at 8, and making it through the day on 3hrs of sleep
  • Getting to teach my own swim lane
  • Having a week off to fly home and relax at my happy place (aka the beach)
  • Seeing my old babysitter for the first time in almost 10 years and meeting her kids (who love me by the way. She told me herself :D)
  • Doing Disney in 2 and a half days with my friends
  • Experiencing the Florida Keys for the first time
  • My dancing skills were completely judged by a 1 year old (to be fair his brother thought I was great)
  • Being called coach Ashleigh (I could get used to that one)

For me, experiences aren’t all about what I see and do, but what I learned as well.

Things I learned along the way

  • Not wearing make-up for about 2 months or so clears up your skin considerably
  • How to properly do/teach breast stroke
  • One can survive on 3hrs of sleep and function (mostly) the next day
  • How to paddle board
  • I discovered that my sweat glands have sweat glands (I was sweating standing still at 7 am)
  • When you’re tired, teeshirts make a great pillow
  • Restraint (I’ve been dealing with kids for 7 weeks)
  • Disney is expensive without your parents
  • Life is what you make it, take advantage of all that you can

And that’s just a very long story short. Explaining all of it would take a couple of hours and only my journal would go into such detail (and that’s private for at least the next 6 months so you’re out of luck).

Let me also use this as a way to say thank you so much to my aunt, uncle, and cousins for housing me these past two months. It has been so much fun and I can’t wait to see you again in Vermont at Christmas.

So Mom, I know you’re reading this, I’ll be home in 15 hours or so. Can’t wait to see you!

And for those friends in Jersey who have been there all summer, I have 9 days. Plan your next week accordingly. I have a lot to do, limited time, but I want to see as many of you as I can.

But most importantly, I HEAD BACK TO ATHENS IN 10 DAYS! Go Dawgs.

signature

p.s. 50th post! Yay 🙂

Leave a Reply

