Post Gate B6

Hello, again, from the Land of Orange Juice.

Yes, I’m back here for the rest of the month. My week home was full of friends, good food, and some much needed relaxation.

For once, the airport and I got along. My flight landed early and there were no delays. That’s a “W” in the Ashleigh column.

Now, I’m waiting for my other cousin to get home so we can go get dinner (Mexican. Yum. I’m totally feeling fish tacos and guac right now). Then it’s to bed early because we have 33 campers tomorrow. Oh boy. This one is going to be a doozy.

The last time I was responsible for that many children at one time I was 16 and my sister was my junior counselor. Luckily there are more than two of us tomorrow, but it is still no small undertaking.

So for the next week I will be reverting back into a “grandma” (as some of my friends like to call me) and be going to bed no later than 9:30. Yay.

But I like to think there are silver linings in every situation and there are in mine. I’m back with my cousins for the next month and I’m back with the friends I’ve made at camp. Heck, I’m going to Disney next weekend (for those of you who don’t know, I freaking LOVE Disney. Like I’m seriously considering it as a stopping point on my honeymoon. But that is a ways off so moving on…).

Even though the week days are hot and exhausting, it’s well worth the memories I have been making along the way. And I still have 4 weeks to make more of them.

If you couldn’t already tell, this post has no “central theme” as I usually try to do. But I’ve already rambled about airports and the beach. Those two things have been the majority of my last week and I try not to repeat myself in fear of boring my readers to death.

You’re just going to have to deal with my random rambling post today then (I promise to write about something more interesting this week. Well, I’ll try to at least).

First thing to pop up in my mind…Fireworks! (Appropriate for this holiday weekend)

I’ve actually seen them 3x in the past week. In my opinion the ones in Ocean Township are the best (since Red Bank got their knickers in a twist and cancelled theirs 3 years ago -_- still salty about that one). And the coolest part was that my friend is an EMT so my friends, well his friends, and I were able to stand as close possible. They are much BIGGER and much LOUDER when you’re that close to them.

Fireworks always make me happy. I don’t know what it is, but if something as simple as colored gun powder can captivate people’s attention (as well as cause a ton of traffic) there’s magic in their somewhere. I’m convinced. Maybe I’ll get to see another display before the summer is over.

They’re fun, they’re free (most of the time), and if you live in a state cooler than mine (where they’re illegal to set off in your backyard), you can see them a lot more often than just in the summer.

So I will leave my ramblings there for today. I hope I haven’t bored too many of you this evening.

signature

Leave a Reply

