New latitudes, new friends

Just over a month ago I was at home packing for my summer in Florida. Here I am at the halfway mark, packing to go home for a week (we have this next week of camp off). And these last couple of weeks were unlike anything I could have expected.

It has been one hell of a ride so far and I can’t wait for more. But, for now, I’m going to take it easy.

When I landed, I knew two people in this are my age aka my cousins. Now I know a few more (and our group chats are HILARIOUS).

I have to say, I have met some of the best and funniest people while working here.

In less than a month I have worked a swim meet, gone to Universal, reconnected with my old babysitter, and those were just the weekends!

During the week is a whole different matter entirely. Working at a summer swim camp is exhausting. Especially in the Florida heat, something I very much underestimated (I sweat in a white tee-shirt. I’m switching them out for tank tops as soon as I get home. This is ridiculous). Add 15-25 (There will be 31 little munchkins in 2 weeks. Joy) children ages ranging from 5-10. It’s, well, it’s interesting.

We do have a lot of fun though. We all have our favorites and we have those kids who drive us up the wall but we always make it to the next day.

Thank god for karaoke and shrinky-dinks. I think it’s better when the counselors are able to do the same activities as the kids. Let’s you get to know them better and they like you more.

And, of course, the Nike lounge. 45 minutes of coloring/watching a movie in a dark, air-conditioned room. Best part of the day. Hands down.

But, to me, the best part of camp is that we want to hang out with each other AFTER the day is over. I learned how to line dance two weeks ago, have already slept on a friend’s couch, and gone out to dinner.

My Aunt took all of the counselors out to dinner tonight because she leaves for Australia Wednesday (excuse me as we all go and cry :[ ). Then, me, my cousin, and two friends I have made along the way, went out of fro-yo after. We must have spent almost two hours sitting there.

I have laughed harder today, between lunch and fro-yo, then I have in months. I truly enjoy being in the company of these people and this past month wouldn’t have been the same without them.

I’m fortunate enough that I can make friends with most people in whatever situation I am put in. But that works both ways too. They have to hold the conversation with you. And the friends I have made go above and beyond that.

So I leave for home tomorrow but wish I could at least stay for the weekend to hang out with them (Mom would kill me if I did), but that’s a good thing. That means I have people to look forward to seeing when I get back in a week.

For now, as long as it’s not raining, my butt will be in Manasquan, NJ. With the ocean in front of me for the better part of the day.

signature

Leave a Reply

