Two for the Price of One

Since I was unable to post yesterday, this is kind of a two for one post.

I spent the weekend in Orlando. Safe to say every time I have been there, in my life, I have been at Disney or Universal. The pattern hasn’t been broken yet.

Yesterday was Universal. I LOVE roller coasters so of course we did every one in both parks. Dueling Dragons still ranks as my #1 after all of these years. But the rides that blew my mind the most were those in Harry Potter World (or Hogsmead and Diagon Alley for those of us who like to get technical).

That was my second time on the Hogwarts castle ride and my first time on the Escape from Gringotts ride. My jaw was on the floor the entire time. Not to mention, these places literally look like they jumped from the pages of all seven books. They are truly amazing.

Where else are you able to buy a set of robes, a wand, and go on the Hogwarts Express? I’ll admit I have been there a few times in my dreams but this is the closest it has come to a reality. Still waiting on that Hogwarts letter…

As for Disney, it was a little different this time. We were only able to make it to Downtown Disney, not Magic Kingdom or anything, sad face. Though that gives you the Disney experience nonetheless.

I have to say, there truly is magic in the air there. Even at 20 years old I get giddy and start jumping around like my inner 5-year-old (you should have seen me on the Minions ride yesterday too). I swear I can act like a mature adult but Disney and everything around it does something to me.

Big shout out to Mom and Dad though, whenever we went it was in March or April and NOWHERE near as hot as today was. I felt bad for those kids.

All in all, I had a blast this weekend. Got my Minions mug and my Snow White mug (I may have a slight obsession with coffee mugs…) so I’m a happy camper.

However, one of the girls I work with has a seasons pass to Disney and I would be more than ready to go for round 2 this summer and hit the parks. Just saying. #WillDrivetoDisney. And if three or four of us go that’s like an hour of driving each, tops. We got this in the bag. Now we just have to wait until we get paid to cover gas, tickets, food, etc.

Now for part 2 of this post:

My LITLLE sister turned 18 today! When the heck did that happen?

Screenshot-15 Cute isn’t she?

So yeah, she is now taller than me and has a full head of hair.

Sadly, as I am in Florida, I was unable to celebrate with her today. But I did everything a big sister should. I got her gift a head of time, mailed a card, posted on Facebook, texted, and called her.

We’re actually tied for the amount of each other’s birthday’s we’ve missed. She’s missed my last two because I’ve been away at school and I missed her 15th birthday because she was in Florida (ironic huh?).

Luckily her boyfriend, who is awesome (and I’m not just saying that) and her best friend (who is ironically one of my best friend’s little sister) kept me updated. I’ve received pictures as well as seen multiple snapchat stories.

Have to say, she’s had a pretty solid day. She was Fall Out Boy and Wiz last night then came home to balloons. Slept in. Woke up to an edible arrangement and breakfast. And is currently at Grounds for Sculpture which is honestly one of the coolest places I have ever been.

Think of it as all kinds of amazing works of art from all of time blown up to life-sized proportions or bigger. Monet’s bridge is an actual bridge over a little river and there is a 50 ft statue of Marilyn Monroe in her classic white dress pose. It’s pretty sweet.

Not to mention the restaurant there, Ratz, is delicious. Think the French Countryside meets Louisiana Creole.

As for the rest of her birthday, I don’t know what else is going on.

I’m still in shock that she’s 18. Mostly because I vividly remember my 18th birthday and in my eyes she’s still 12. And she probably always will be. Although maybe 5 years from now, when she’s 23 *shudder* I’ll probably think of her as 18. I guess that’s just how it goes.

I hope she’s having a great day and that she takes at least some of the advice my present bestowed upon her (just some tips and tricks of what to expect in college that they don’t tell you in high school). And if she doesn’t, like she said, I will with absolute resolve be able to say “I told you so” and “You should have listened to me.” So there’s always that to fall back on.

So if I know my sister as well as I know I do, if the weather is nice tomorrow she will start 18 with her butt on the beach. Unlike the day after my 18th birthday, which was a Sunday too ironically, I had to go to school. I was always jealous that she rarely had school on her birthday. Oh well, there’s pros and cons to every side right?

As for me, I’m exhausted. Theme parks and 97 degrees takes a lot out of you. Especially when you have to get up early *cough* 6 am *cough* the next day for swim camp.

So to end:

Happy Birthday Alex! I hope you had a great day and make the most out of your 18th year. Olive you.

signature

Leave a Reply

