They say rain brings good luck

I wish the weather looked like this today. It was rainy, cold, windy, and just over all gross. But I made the best of it. I got to the aquarium, the boardwalk, the beach, the park, and still had time for a coffee run. I consider that a successful rainy day.

Sadly, my last day home wasn’t full of sunshine in the literal sense (for those of you who don’t know I’m leaving tomorrow for Florida for pretty much until I leave again for school).

This is going to be my first summer away from home. My cousin, who I’m staying with for the summer, was texting me earlier and asked “are you, sad, excited, or both?” I have to say it’s both. I am so excited to spend an entire summer in Florida with my cousins who I usually only get to see once a year. But there is so much I will miss.

My family of course goes without saying but there is nothing like a summer at the Jersey Shore and I have to say, it’s the friends I have that make it that way. Kat keeps saying Vee and I are ditching her (Vee left to go back to Cali this morning). Now that I think about it, this is the first summer, since I was 2, that I will be more than 10 miles away from Kat. That’s a scary thought. Being apart from each other at school was bad enough and now we have to do it again. Of course that’s on me but that doesn’t mean I wish I could stuff her in my suitcase and take her with me.

I won’t be running into friends at Inkwell for a while either. For those of you who don’t know what Inkwell is, it’s the only place you can get coffee, dessert, and food (mostly fries for us) after 9pm that’s not at college (where everything else is open until 2 or 3 am). It’s been around forever, my Dad even used to go there when he was my age. Almost every time I’m there I run into people I haven’t seen in a while. Hopefully there will be some late night coffee hang out like that in Florida.

On the bright side I will have weekends off for the first time in three summers. When my friend asked what I was going to do with all that time I said, “Relax and read.” I’m so excited to read books I want to read, for once in a while, and just chill on my own terms. I won’t have to worry about being called in or working late Saturday and Sunday.

To my friends who will be here this summer, I will miss you terribly. There is nothing quite like a solid shoulder to lean on or tough love to help you see the light. I’ll be back before you know it and I’m always a quick text away. So the next time I write I will be in the Sunshine State. Even though I’m leaving on a rainy day, I’m sure it’ll open up to a sunny summer. Florida Edition here we go.

signature

Leave a Reply

