Not having to cook for yourself

That is probably one of the nicest things about being home so far.

Don’t get me wrong, I love cooking. Half the time when I throw things together it actually comes out pretty good. But it is nice not having to worry about it for a few months.

At school I was constantly thinking: will I have enough time to make something (because I always was getting home at odd hours), how much of x,y, and z do I have left, and I hope BLANK has’n’t gone bad… Sometimes it was a constant struggle. And it’s always so much easier to eat crap than it is to cook something healthy. Because that takes time, effort, and clean-up.

If there is one thing about cooking I hate, it’s the clean up. I would rather cook for hours on end, which includes remaking what I screwed up (that has happened before) than clean up. I would rather pay someone else to do it. Some people say cooking is exhausting but I don’t see it. Cleaning, however, is.

So for the next couple of months, I’m going to sit back, relax, and pretend like I’m back in high school. All I have to worry about is setting or clearing the table and help put away leftovers.

Although, I like to think I became a pretty good cook while at school. So I have helped out a bit. I haven’t prepared a full meal on my own since being home but I did make potatoes and okra the other night. The potatoes came out much better than the okra but it was my first time making it.

There is hope for me yet, I hope. I’ve only just started cooking on my own and the biggest part is learning how to balance how much to buy. I’m used to going shopping with my mom who would shop for four people. I’m only shopping for one (unless I decide to make sauce, then it’s a couple more). I owe all of my, limited, cooking skills to my mom.

Right now she’s preparing stuffed peppers (I know the picture is a little blurry, sorry). She sent me the recipe when I was at school and I attempted it. It came out pretty good, I haven’t had her version but I’m excited to try it.

Here it is if you want to try it out:

Stuffed Peppers

Ingredients

  • Ground beef/turkey
  • Rice
  • Pepper(s)
  • Sauce
  • Parmesan cheese
  • Onions
  • Spices

Procedure

  • Preheat oven to 350
  • Make rice
  • Brown meat
  • Remove meat
  • Sauté onions in same pan
  • Mix with what spices you want
  • Add ¾ of a jar of sauce
  • Add cheese
  • Mix together
  • Use rest of sauce to cover baking pan
  • Slice and clean peppers
  • Stuff peppers
  • Bake for 45 minutes

The measurements aren’t exact but some of the best cooking isn’t anyway 🙂

signature

Leave a Reply

