So I just yoga’d…

And it was hot yoga nonetheless. It was over 100 degrees. I was literally the definition of a hot mess.

(I swear that’s a yoga mat and a towel in the picture, the layout cuts it off weird)

For those who know me they’re probably reading this going “Whatttt??” Ask anyone, I would rather play a full soccer game then do something in the realms of yoga. Tonight was different. After standing for 5+ hours at work today, I really didn’t feel like running. But I don’t have a gym membership here and I felt the need to workout. So my sister was going to hot yoga and I figured I would tag along.

Honestly I though I was going to hate it. I didn’t hate it but it’s not my favorite. I still can’t stand the smell of incense and parts of it are still a little too “hippy-dippy” for me. That’s okay though. There are some people who love it and that’s great, no judgement here.

I liked that it pushes you. I was soaked. I can’t remember the last time I had such a good workout. Another reason I liked it was because I was given instruction on what to do. For me, working out on my own is possible but not as beneficial as compared with having a coach or instructor guiding my workout.

On the bright side, she made a couple of football references so I felt a little more at home.

Safe to say it was the quietest workout I’ve ever done. I’m used to music blasting, coaches yelling/correcting, and hearing my own breathing. I heard my own breathing this time but it was much different. It was calm and slow, unlike when I would be running. There was no music blasting but there was music. It was soft, though I wasn’t entirely sure if they were speaking a language or just making sounds… And finally there was instruction. She was calming and constructive.

She could have put most people to sleep it was so calm. I only almost fell asleep twice. Personally, I’m proud of myself because I totally would have thought it would have been around the five range.

Would I do it again? Probably. It’s a great stress release and I haven’t felt that relaxed in a while. Would I do it daily or more than once a week? Probably not. It’s fun but it is hard. I like it because it’s different but I’m not too fond of change so this will most likely be a once in a while thing.

So, tomorrow I have to be at work way too early. I really hope my body won’t hate me too much and decide not to be sore. I don’t have a day off until next Tuesday… We lift boxes and climb ladders on the daily. Being sore would not aid in the crushing of rushes as the Avon Pavilion (which is delicious and if you live in the area you should definitely check it out).

Never thought I would come home from school and decide to do hot yoga. Guess this summer will be nothing short of surprising.

signature

Leave a Reply

