Two Brunettes and a Blonde, What could go Wrong?

Sometimes I wish I went to a big high school. That way when I walked down a different hallway I would meet new people. But at other times I am so glad I didn’t.

I graduated high school with 50 kids in my grade. We were the smallest grade in the school at the time. Small classes have their pros and cons no doubt. The biggest pro, in my opinion, was being able to see and have class with my two best friends everyday.

So let me tell you a little bit about them.

I met Kat when I was 2 years old at preschool. Who knew asking to play with her blocks would have sent us on this 18 year adventure. Up until college, we have always gone to school together. Not going to the same college as her was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done.

Ironically, our little sisters ended up becoming best friends too. Kat and I are a month a part to the day while her sister is 6 months younger than mine. I have literally known her since since before she was born.

Our families ended up becoming as close as family. Over the years we vacationed together more times than I could count. And there wasn’t a weekend growing up when we weren’t begging to sleepover at one another’s house.

But like every good friendship, you have some fights along the way. When we were in 5th grade, Kat and I had a falling out. I don’t think we were able to stand each other again until sometime in 8th grade. Our parents never lose faith however. They knew we would find our way back to one another again.

Looking back, the fight was stupid. Though it has shown me that if we were able to find our way back to each other after that, anything else is a piece of cake (But we’d rather eat cookies).

Now before I touch on high school, let me also introduce my other best friend.

Vee came to my school in first grade, but it wasn’t until 5th grade that we truly got to know each other. And the reason we did, was because one of my guy friends had a huge crush on her. So of course he wanted some intel. I kind of knew her and figured why not. Now a days their relationship is long done but Vee and I are strong as ever.

Unlike me and Kat, Vee and I have never had a falling out. I think that’s because Kat and I are so similar. Italian, stubborn, etc. Whereas Vee and I are more opposite. She’s more prone to freak out about the little things and I bring her back down to earth. I’m the brunette to her blonde, so it all works out.

Vee’s sister is also my sisters age but they “run in different circles” as my mom would say. So our families are no where near as close as Kat and mine, but they are friendly and I feel just as comfortable in either of their homes as I do in my own.

In high school all three of us got along. We all played or helped out with sports so our schedules matched up. Kind of. Kat and I were in the same homeroom, we absolutely LOVED (and still do) our advisor. And Vee’s advisor and I had a special bond because of the show “Once Upon A Time.” We always ended up being in each other’s lives. Then graduation happened.

I decided to go to Georgia, Kat headed down to Florida to go to Stetson, and Vee trekked across the country to go to USC. We would all be truly apart for the first time since 2001. That was a terrifying thought.

For me, the hardest part was not seeing them after class, hanging out in Red Bank on the weekends with Vee, or driving to Kat’s for pizza on Friday nights. So I decided I would call each of them at least once a week and text them whenever I could. And I still do.

They say I’m reliable because “you always call!” (Although sometimes I think it comes across as annoying I don’t think they do) Some of our other friends aren’t as good about keeping in touch. But these two are my adopted sisters, you always call family.

After our freshman year the three of us spend a week in St. Thomas together (which is where the picture was taken). It was exactly what we needed after our first year apart. Sadly, we do not have such a trip planned for this summer. We’re all bummed. Vee is only home for a week, I’m heading to Florida, and Kat says we’re “leaving her” here.

Regardless of how much time we have spent apart from each other, when ever we’re back together it’s like we never left. I wouldn’t be the person I am today without these two amazing people in my life who I was fortunate enough to meet and stay close with because of my small school.

So Kat and I are anxiously waiting for Vee to fly in at the end of the week. Her finals really need to hurry themselves up. Movies, Strollos, Hoffman’s, and the beach are just a few of the things we’ll accomplish in a short time.

As much as it kills me to go to school far from them and not see them, again, this summer I don’t have a choice. Thank god cell companies don’t charge for minutes anymore. We’d be screwed.

signature

One thought on “Two Brunettes and a Blonde, What could go Wrong?

Leave a Reply

