Strength is not Singular

I know the headline must sound a little odd, but it’s true.

Throughout the hardships I have had in my life, I have always heard “you are so strong.”  Honestly, at some of those times, I didn’t believe it. But once the “storm” passed I have been able to look back, and I have always seen the same thing.

I am strong because of the amount of people I am able to surround myself with. This is not a quantity vs quality situation because in this case they go hand in hand. The quantity of people I have around me are all of the highest quality.

I forget how lucky and loved I am until something warrants me to realize it. The thing that surprises me the most, however, is how many people I hear from whom I do not expect to. Those I have just recently met in college as well as those I have not spoken to since high school. I feel very humbled.

No matter how “strong” I seem to be I would not have been able to get there without all of these amazing people in my life. Friends, family, coworkers, past teachers, all of you have made a difference in my life. Whether you realize it or not, just by knowing you I have become more of myself.

I have been blessed to say I am surrounded by so many different people who care about me from all walks of life.

The other day, when I was unable to get out words, my friend simply said, “I’ll be praying for you.” No one has ever said that to me before. And maybe it’s because I grew up in a semi-religious household, but hearing that made me feel so much better. Someone would be taking the time out of their busy day to say something to help alleviate my pain. That is how I am given the strength all of you say I have. It’s from all of you.

Now if I were to write the names all of the people who I know are there for me in my life, I would miss so many more. That’s because sometimes we forget how many people truly care for us and our wellbeing. There are so many more names then we could ever think to list. And for that I am so grateful.

That is why I know that my strength is not singular. It does not only come from me. And for that I couldn’t be happier. So the next time you just send a text to make sure someone knows you’re thinking of them, order them cookies and ice cream even though they protest, or are there for them no questions asked, you are contributing to their strength. Never forget how much of an impact the smallest of things can have.

signature

Leave a Reply

