Grits: Why don’t they have these up North?

Grits. I love grits. And everyone thinks that’s weird because where I grew up most people had never heard of them. For some reason I like a lot of foods that are partial to the Southeast (I did not grow up eating them. It just happened). Don’t even get me started on trying to explain them to people up there. When you say it’s a cross between the texture of pollenta and the consistency of oatmeal, you get some very weird looks.

I have one of my favorite dishes, which include grits, as the headline photo. Egg whites with bacon and cheese, cheese grits, and a biscuit. Mind you I don’t eat like this everyday (my friend and I were celebrating our acceptance into the journalism school) but it is nice to treat yourself every once and a while. This particular dish is from a place called Momma’s Boy. If you live in Athens and or go to school at UGA and you haven’t been here yet, you are missing OUT. Get there ASAP for your next breakfast or lunch. You’ll be glad you did.

Back to why I love grits…

One of the best things about grits is that, honestly, they are an every meal kind of side dish. In the morning you can have them with your eggs and for lunch or dinner shrimp and grits. Yum.

Not to mention, there are a bunch of different ways to have them. Just to name a few:

  • with salt and pepper
  • with cheese
  • with salsa (like my mom likes to do)
  • mixed with whatever creamy sauce the shrimp are in
  • or the juices coming off of the fish, beef, or chicken they’re being served with

Though hands down the most amazing way I have ever had them is mixed with eggs and baked into a casserole with bacon served on the side. My friend’s mom made it for me the first time I came to Atlanta and I have been dreaming about it ever since (that was Fall 2013).

Unfortunately, I have never had good grits outside of the South. I swear the ability to make good grits must be in people’s blood down here. I believe that’s true for two reasons. One, grits are no where on the menu north of Virginia and two, when I had grits in Vermont they were cold, lumpy, and tasteless.

So I guess until I figure out how to make grits myself I will only be able to enjoy them while I’m here at school, in the Southeast in general, or if I can convince my friends parents to make them for me.

I’m curious to know if they’re served in the middle of the country. I have only been to Colorado and I don’t remember seeing them on any of the menus. Guess that will be my next endeavor if I get out there: to see if grits are good outside the South.

I hope I have inspired some of who you haven’t tried grits to try them and for those of you who have, you know what I’m talking about.

signature

Leave a Reply

