How to Theme Park

Yesterday was UGA Night at Six Flags. Which means that if you bought a ticket through UGA the park was open from 6-12 am only for those with that specific ticket. It’s awesome.

As we were getting ready to leave my roommate, how apparently had never been to a theme park, was asking me what to wear and or bring. At some point I asked her “Don’t you know how to theme park?” I had assumed everyone did because I grew up going to the rides at the boardwalk (a dumbed down theme park more or less) for as a long as I can remember.

So I learned that obviously not everyone knows how to theme park. But I think it’s a great skill to have, especially if you decide to have kids.

In general there are a few rules:

  1. Wear comfortable clothes, ones that will keep you cool or warm depending on the time of year
  2. Wear comfortable shoes that will stay on your feet i.e. no flip-flops
  3. If you are not traveling with a small child, who requires a stroller, less is more. Money, phone, and keys, or anything else that will fit in your pockets. No bag, otherwise you have to find something to do with it at every ride. Plus carrying arm loads of whatever for hours on end gets very boring very fast. If you ARE traveling with a stroller, pack that baby up. It holds more than you think.
  4. Eat before or after you go to the park if you can help it. More often than not there will be places surrounding the general area. Plus park food is ALWAYS more expensive.
  5. Check the weather ahead of time.

Speaking of weather, we didn’t let it get the best of us yesterday. Safe to say it rained from 6-11. And we left at 11:30. But we didn’t let that put a damper on our good time. Riding roller coasters in the rain was a new experience.

Although there are some rules when preparing for the rain:

  1. Wear something water proof. Otherwise you will be buying brightly colored ponchos like two friends of mine had to
  2. Pick shoes that you don’t mind getting soaked. No matter how light of a drizzle it is, those puddles appear out of nowhere and they are DEEP
  3. Don’t let the rain affect your good time. Hit an indoor ride, the arcade, or ride in the rain like we did. If the ride was running in the rain we were on it, like I said, it was a new experience.

Now last year it was 80 and sunny so here are some tips of what to do in that situation:

  1. Lightweight shirts and shorts
  2. Lather-up that sunscreen otherwise you’re gonna be rocking a tank-top/farmers tan for a while
  3. Hydrate before, during, and after
  4. Only bring sunglasses if you don’t mind holding them, one of the rides knocked off my friends (Yes that does happen)

Keep in mind these are tips from my personal experiences. I really can’t speak with confidence from the parent point of view. I remember some of what my parents did for me and my sister growing up but I wouldn’t want to provide false information.

So for anyone who didn’t know “know how to theme park,” like my friend, or for those of you who do already, I hope I shed light on things to do and not to do.

signature

Leave a Reply

