First Post

Hi All,

For awhile I have been throwing around the idea of creating a blog. I miss writing every night like I used to back in middle and high school. Will I be as diligent here as I was then? Well, I’m going to try.

For the most part, this will show my experience of living in the South as a young adult. It truly is a different world down here.

To start, my mom, Amy, came to visit last week. I hadn’t seen her in THREE months. Safe to say I almost knocked her over when I saw her. She was here for a glorious four days and we got a lot done in that short period of time. She met my boyfriend, we took a mini road trip, and we went to a rodeo.

Yes I said rodeo. The picture is evidence. Now growing up in New Jersey, well, rodeos do not exist. But here in the Southland they do. My mom grew up in Texas so this wasn’t her first time at one, but it was mine. And, I LOVED it.

Granted, I am allergic to horses and by the last event it was getting hard to breathe. But! I only sneezed like five times, a record, and made it out alive.

So after my first rodeo I learned a couple of things:

  • How to dress (girls) – cowboy boots are a must, if going casual jeans/cut offs and a plaid shirt/tee-shirt, if dressy a cute sundress
  • Food – if you don’t like pork or beef eat before hand
  • Novelties – there is lots of turquoise, crosses, belt buckles, and shirts. Not to mention they’re all for sale. And some times there will be the little mom-and-pop stands. I was fortunate enough to stumble across one that sold goats milk soap (again something that would never be found in New Jersey). Their scents ranged from lavender, which Mom liked, to tropical paradise. I chose Southern Peach and it smells divine.
  • Humor – some jokes are a little crude but you just have to roll with the punches because you’re there to have fun. Don’t take offense to EVERY little thing.
  • And finally parking – park close and facing out (meaning you don’t have to back up). Those one way roads don’t move very fast when there’s a lot of people trying to get out and cross them at the same time. So remember to be patient, something I myself am working on, and remember things are a littler slower in the South.

There you have it. Post No. 1 complete. I’ll try to write as much as I can but finals are right around the corner but then again, procrastination is a terrible disease that has been sweeping college campuses.

signature

Leave a Reply

